Laurels in Bloom

It’s been 8 days since I ran the North Face Endurance Challenge 50 miler. Since then, I have had no desire to run. None. I went out during the week for 2 half-hearted easy runs, and rode my bike. I thought maybe this is a good time to quit. Just hike and ride my bike, and forget the running.

I did not want to run this morning either. Normally, I can’t wait for my weekend trail runs, but the only thing that lured me onto the trail this morning was the Laurels. I knew they were in full bloom up there and I did not want to miss it. So I got myself ready and out the door. And it was beautiful. Giant snowballs of laurel blooms, stands of laurels on both sides of the trail, set off by the deep green trees and filtered by a soft early morning fog.

Mountain Fog

By the time I turned around to come home, I was feeling, well, normal. I was enjoying the run, the feel of my legs moving, my feet finding their way, my lungs filling with air. Enjoying the breeze on my skin, and the smell of the air. The quiet of being in the woods all by myself, thoughts wandering where they will.

Laurels

Maybe I won’t quit just yet.

Leave a Reply

