A Girl’s Gotta Snack

I just finished making a batch of our new favorite addiction- frozen banana bites. They’re so easy, it takes about 5 minutes, and they taste so much more decadent than they really are.

It all started with the Surf City Marathon earlier this month and stayed in Newport Beach California. During our 4 days there, I kept seeing frozen bananas advertised at little stands all over Balboa Island. Since one place claimed to have the “Original Frozen Banana” I knew I’d have to try it as part of experiencing local culture.

Sunday we ran the marathon, and that evening, after an obscene amount of pizza and 2 delicious craft beers at BJ’s -hey, I wasn’t driving, and I was thirsty, I ran a long way that morning! I decided to top it all off with a frozen banana. It was, well, disappointing. Average.

Nothing like the delicious banana bites I make. So the weekend after we got home, I made some for Larry. He practically panicked when they were gone, so I made some more, and today was the third batch!

So here it is, 3 ingredients, 10 minutes, and maybe even a little good for you?

Frozen Banana Bites

  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter( I always use crunchy)
  • 2 big bananas

Melt the chocolate chips and PB together in the microwave. Slice the bananas into about 1 inch chunks.  Roll them in the melted chocolate and put on a cookie sheet covered with wax paper. Put in the freezer and try to be patient until they are frozen! Adapted from recipe by NeverHomeMaker.

Oh, yea….next time I’ll do a race report for the marathon. Short version- DO IT! You’ll LOVE it!

Newport Beach

Leave a Reply

