12 x 12

My son is proud of me. He told me so, after I completed the 12 x 12, a year-long challenge I invented for myself and that he named. In the fall of 2010 I decided that I wanted to complete one endurance event a month during the following year. 12 events by 2012; or the 12 x 12 as it came to be known.

The final event was the Grand Canyon Marathon in November.

It was a significant event in a number of ways:

  • It was my 12th and final event of the year- completion of the 12×12 (more later on why I finished in November, not December).
  • It was at the Grand Canyon, a place I had always dreamed of seeing.
  • It was L’s 200th marathon; a milestone in his journey of running. I was honored and excited to be part of it.

Anyway, Dear Son has encouraged me to write down my experiences, and as I reflect back on the runs, the training, the people I met, places I saw and lessons I learned, I want to write about them, for myself, as well as for any of you who might find them of interest or value.

So, we begin with January, 2011……

Leave a Reply

