Big Plans

I read  lot of blogs. They are on a variety of topics, but the one that is bothering me today is the “change your life” “follow your passion” “make it happen”  kind.

The theme is that (I’m going to make this personal) I have a talent, a craft, an art, and if I am not expressing it in my daily life, and MAKING THINGS HAPPEN, then I am wasting my life.

That’s where it gets confusing. I do have a passion. Running is my passion; challenging my body is my passion. And I live into that 35 miles a week, on roads and trails. I live it in races and events. I live it by learning more about my sport, trying new training methods, and (sporadically) writing about them in this blog.

Soooo……..

Is that enough? It is a purely private, single passion. No one but me benefits from this. Is that ok? Is it enough?

Interesting note: While I’m writing this, there’s a TV show on in the background about 2 morbidly obese people who go to a facility for 30 days of one-on-one training, dieting and counseling to lose weight. I am a sucker for those shows, and their progress frequently brings tears to my eyes. I COULD DO THAT. I could help people make a life change. I think about it occasionally, but I always cast doubt because I don’t have any formal education in diet or exercise. I have LOTS of experience, and LOTS of informal education, and I believe I could help someone. But how, and who?

Don’t let this go. As Seth Godin says “Make Big Plans”.  Here’s the question he asks-  Is there any doubt that we need your art and your contribution? Why then, are you hesitating to make big plans?

It makes me feel guilty for not sharing what I know, with someone who could benefit. How do I start?

Leave a Reply

