Black Rock Summit Challenge

Tomorrow is the first event of 2011- The Black Rock Summit Challenge.

It’s a 13.5 mile trail run – up to the summit and back down. Some creek crossings. 45 runners.

I’m nervous. The distance is not a problem. The elevation gain is not a problem. I’ve trained for both.

Why am I nervous?

  1. It’s going to be COLD- 10 degrees at the start.
  2. I don’t have much experience on trails. I trip and fall
  3. It’s a small event put on by a local running club. I’m afraid they’ll all be running buddies, hardcore and fast, and I’ll be the novice “what were you thinking” “you don’t belong here” runner.

Yea, I think that’s the bottom line. I don’t feel qualified. The thing is, I may find out that is a lie. I may be qualified, and there is only one way to find out.

I’m really nervous. I don’t want to go. I’m scared.

I’ll report back here.

Leave a Reply

