Mad Dogs & Englishmen..

You know that old saying… “Only mad dogs and Englishmen go out in the noonday sun.”

It came to mind this morning when I was running. It was 5 am, 14 degrees, light wind. and I wondered, what do they say about people who do this?

I was dressed in layers, pretty comfortable, and enjoying the run. It is a fine thing to be out running in the deep cold, and feel confident and competent, to be in the right place for that moment. I may spend the rest of the day being where I have to be, but this morning for 5 frigid, starlit miles, I was exactly where I wanted to be.

And that is a gift.

Leave a Reply

